I Know That You Are There

Standard

Your palms take me to Narnia

because your hands are another dimension

and when you hold my head so tender

and your fingers brush my tears

I swear I hear the low thrum of love,

pulsing

You clasp your hand in mine, interlock

our fingers

I taste the last of summer rain – gold

I smell the moment between tears and laughter

Your gaze is infinity

An infinity that I want to enter

how have you done this to me?

how have you shown me paradise in the corner of your smile?

in the creases by your eyes?

in the dimples on your cheeks?

I’m still not a hopeless romantic.

But I know that you are there.

Leave a Reply

